Back to Awards & Lecturers

awards and lectures 2016

Our 23rd Annual Charity Awards Nite was held on Monday, 25th January 2016 at Hotel Savera, RK Salai, Chennai. For the past seven years TANKER has used this special night as a platform to recognise and appreciate the efforts of professionals working tirelessly to improve the lives of people, especially the underprivileged with Chronic Kidney Disease.

TANKER presents research and service awards every year during Republic day Eve Nite. TANKER Charity Nite, does recognize and honour doctors for their services to people. On January 25th 2016 the following awards were presented.

Our Chief Guest Sri. Vikram Kapur IAS Principal Secretary, Managing Director, Chennai Metropolitan Water Supply and Sewerage Board, presented the Awards.

Mrs. Malathi Venkatesan TANKER Foundation Memorial Lecture by Mr. Kamal D Shah, Co-Founder & Director, Patient Services, Nephro Plus Dialysis Centers. His lecture was on “Living a normal life despite being on dialysis”. The award carried a cash prize of Rs. 1 Lakh, a citation and a gold medallion. He was awarded the “La Renon TANKER Foundation for the Sake of Honour Award”.

The Muthoot M. George Memorial TANKER & Kerala Kidney Research Foundation Young Investigator Award For outstanding research done in the field of Nephrology in India was awarded to Dr. Pinaki Mukhopadhyay for his research Into “Malarial AKI a new look in pathogenesis on the basis of carbonyl stress".The award carried a cash prize, of 2 Lakhs, a citation and a gold medallion.

The Renny Abraham TANKER Foundation Love for Service Award for a medical doctor who has gone beyond the call of duty in serving the underprivileged was awarded to Dr. Nandakumar & Dr. Shylaja, a highly qualified medical couple who, despite having lucrative options, have chosen to devote their lives to serving an isolated and underserved population. The award carried a cash prize of 1 Lakh, a citation and a gold medallion

The La Renon TANKER Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award given to two individuals who have done exemplary work in the field of Nephrology was awarded to Prof. N Gopalakrishnan and Prof. M. Thomas Mathew, two renowned nephrologists from Tamilnadu and Kerala respectivelywho are pioneers of renal care in India and also served the needy selflessly. The award carried a cash prize of 1 Lakh, a citation and a gold medallion.

The K. Venkatanarayana TANKER Foundation Awareness Award to individuals for creating awareness of any disease, mental, physical and social. Dr. Mohan – Dr. Mohan’s Diabetes Specialities Centre for his unstinting efforts to create awareness on Diabetes. The award carried a cash prize of Rs. 1 Lakh, a citation and a gold medallion.

The Ashok Sankaralingam TANKER Foundation Patient Endowment - for 3 underprivileged patients from our units in Chennai, Madurai and Coimbatore.

There was a cultural event by students of “Swabodhini” a school dedicated to empowering special needs children and young adults.

You can also help TANKER fulfil its mission